HOME                 BLOG                 BIO               BOOKS                CONTACT

BOOK CLUBS          EVENTS             NEWS BRIEFS         REVIEWS



Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield, TwoDot Imprint
Published: March 2016

The Shifting Winds, 2017 finalist for the Nancy Pearl Book Award, portrays the dilemma of reluctant pioneer Jennie Haviland, a young American torn from study at her female academy in New York when her father takes the family west over the Oregon Trail to a wilderness on the far side of the continent. In 1842 Oregon Jennie meets two young men, American mountain man Jake Johnston and British Hudson's Bay Company clerk Alan Radford. The two vie for Jennie, as their nations vie for the contested territory of this rich western frontier. Jennie never expected to find a gentleman in Oregon as fine as Alan Radford. But when Alan asks to court her, Jake does his best to put a crimp in the plans of Alan and his company, and Jennie becomes caught in the conflict of nations and the confusion of her own desires. ~ Historical Fiction


Available now at:

Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble ~ Powell’s ~ Books-A-Million
Indie Bound ~ Globe Pequot ~ Annie Bloom’s Books


Publisher: Globe Pequot Press, TwoDot Imprint
Published June 2014

A Place of Her Own: The Legacy of Oregon Pioneer Martha Poindexter Maupin taps into one of the West’s great stories, the bold pioneer crossing a continent, here seen through the eyes of a woman. Martha defies her parents to marry the dashing Garrett Maupin and follows him west across the Oregon Trail, but their struggles in a raw new land soon shatter her dreams of an idyllic life with him. When he dies in 1866, leaving her alone on the Oregon frontier with their many children, she makes a daring decision to buy a farm in this wilderness for herself and her family. The author, Martha’s great-great-granddaughter, now owns that farm. In creative nonfiction style, Janet shows Martha’s long road to this place, with a few short interludes to describe her search for Martha’s story. ~ History


Available now at:

Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble ~ Powell’s ~ Books-A-Million
Indie Bound ~ Globe Pequot ~
Annie Bloom’s Books



Upcoming Projects 

Janet’s writing focus has turned to the ancient pre-Greek world with a trilogy of epic historical novels set in the remarkable island of Crete, once the home of a people we now call Minoans. Looking back to the distant glimmer of hope in their lives, these stories will portray a place of natural beauty, fantastic architecture and artwork, peopled with accessible characters whose long-ago crises resonate with our own today. She calls it the Distant Glimmer series.

Beyond the Waning Moon, Book One, is the story of Helaina, priestess of Knossos on the Greek Isle of Crete, who must defend the peace and freedom of her island as invaders storm across surrounding lands. Filled with romance, adventure, and intrigue, her story tells of poignant desire and guilt, valor on land and sea, passionate trysts that must never be told, and a love that won’t let go. It all begins in 1470 BC on the day the warriors come. Helaina distrusts these men of war who arrive on her island with peaceful claims. Minos of Mycenae, the leader of the visiting warriors, offers protection for the island if the ruling high priestess, Alysia, will become his consort and make him king. Afraid for her people, Alysia agrees. Helaina rails against the change. How can it help to invite the warriors in? Yet this idealistic young woman succumbs to temptation when one man touches her heart and entices her into a clandestine love affair with ramifications far beyond betrayal. Meanwhile a powerful vengeance wants the final claim. ~ Historical Fiction/PNWA Literary Contest Finalist  

Grains of Light, Book Two, is the story of artisan Sarena whose work will speak across time. Her story begins when Minos Menelao, heir to the King of Knossos, returns from a voyage to the western sea where the Knossian fleet has sailed in search of a place warriors have not come. On arriving home he meets his two-year-old son by Sarena. She has willingly borne his son at the request of their high priestess, Helaina, who is too old now to provide an heir to follow Menelao. But Sarena and Menelao have feelings for each other they know can never be realized because in order to be the next king he must become the consort of the high priestess. Not Sarena. The exquisite night of their son’s conception has only made their desires keener and thrown them into torment. When Crete confronts its worst crisis, Menelao faces the limits of a king’s power just when he needs it most. Through her brilliant artwork Sarena bestows light on her world, but her beauty and art become unwitting lures for a greedy man who threatens them all. ~ Historical Fiction  

Talia, Book Three, is the story of the priestess Talia and of destinies that tear loves apart. Granddaughter of Helaina, Talia has sworn to lead her island people in the quest to keep their light of peace and freedom alive against an increasingly warring world. She must one day take Piero, great-grandson of the legendary King Minos, as her king and consort. But her heart belongs to his younger brother Nikoli, who rebuffs her because he can’t bear the thought of handing her over to his brother when the time comes. She finds fiery comfort with Lysandros, Piero’s new first officer, a Mycenaean, though she despises the intrusion of Mycenaean mercenaries on her island. Lysandros has chosen foreign service in Crete after threats to his life in Mycenae. Danger from Mycenae rises as Desma, sister of Mycenae’s new king, plots against the Cretans she blames for the death of her father. In Crete’s darkest hour, Talia must put aside her conflicted desires and take up arms against Crete’s enemies. She finally realizes that to save the light of her people, she must embrace the light of love in her own heart. ~ Historical Fiction  

The Distant Glimmer series will continue as we visit the Isle of Éire, more commonly known today as Ireland, a place the Cretan mariners find when one ship of their fleet crashes on the island’s rocky south shore. Although Éire is a place the warriors have not taken, slavers threaten, and the surviving Cretan mariners become caught in this island’s struggle.